The NFL started yesterday! JT O’Sullivan, please make UCD proud (or at least less ashamed, as Abe Simpson said to Homer), and not that 5 TO effort! Ah yes, the 2K Niners; where they get the high draft picks that the Warriors can’t get, but still royally screw things up. Nevertheless, I’m still psyched for football. That season-ending injury to Tom Brady's gonna make things interesting.
Congrats to Serena Williams for winning her 3rd US Open. I was pulling for Jelena Jankovic (did I even spell that right?), but Serena did a great job. The commentators loved how Jelena smiled after every long rally she won and looked at the big screen to look at herself. Oh yeah; did a lotta splits trying to hustle her ass off (I think I heard a lotta “I love you Jelena!” right before each serve). I guess putting on makeup really did put her into the finals. Very entertaining women’s finals, but Serena’s stroke power and serve power was just too much; I actually predicted as such when I was watching.
And I’m really bummed Rafael Nadal could not meet up against Roger Federer for the US Open men’s championship; I really think Roger Federer’s going to eclipse Pete Sampras’ grand slam total; he’s only 2 away; I think Pete might’ve quit early because he was just bored; funny how the greatest players who just roll through their sports always quit when they’re bored, not when they can’t play anymore; it’s when their playing dips ever so slightly, or when they’re bored. Not when they absolutely suck. Like MJ could’ve had 8+ titles had he not gotten bored midway through the 90s. And he probably still couldve kept playing after 98, although he mightve not won anything anymore. Jerry West mightve won more than 1 had he stuck with it, but he admitted after the NY series that he felt he couldn’t play at a high level any longer, so that was it for him.
Monday, September 08, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment