Friday, October 25, 2002

be a good sport when i play internet reversi against ya. plz.

REALLY funny Family Guy episodes:
British Pub(too many spoofs to list; the King of the Hill spoof cracked me and jon up)
Screwed the Pooch(this one's the most funny Family Guy i've ever seen)
And the Weiner Is(some sexual references, but it'll make you crack up)

(to self): Reach! Reach! you have to start setting a regular sleep schedule, like 11:00 to 6:30; if you don't, you're seriously going to eff yourself to hell everyday!

i am very sure that God flows around us, and that he knows everything. sometimes, i wonder if it's even necessary to tell him what i want or am thankful for, because he knows what i'm grateful for or what i need. so why tell him? you don't need to thank him or tell him what you need; not like God forgets. not like God's sitting in heaven going "did i do something wrong," and we need to go, "no, God; you're doing a great job" and God goes "that's GREAT!" but i see it like this: God created us in his own image; in that sense, he wants company as much as we do. that's why; he wants to converse w/us everyday, in every aspect.

1st priority to God is worship, the 2nd priority is servitude... worshipping IS the way to follow God. so when i let ya pervade my soul, it's all good.

will be back for the weekend

Thursday, October 24, 2002

Terminator 3's coming out July 2K3... i dunno whether it'll be worth it... part of me tells me it's going to be a rehash of the past stuff, but yet, i dunno... a lotta us guys have grown up on Terminator, so, oh man.... at least now we get to see John Connor as an adult and the future world. but now the cyborg against the humans is... a female? heh, when i brought up that tidbit to jerm, he told me she was probably sexy, so we'll all know the REAL reason jerm goes to see T3; for the rest of us, though, heh heh.

oh yeah, i finally found out who the band behind the Pepsi Blue commercial... Sev. the song? Same Old Song(monk mix). i don't think they're christian though; checked the site; no references to God, Jesus or Christ. still, it's a nice, creative song. it's closer-sounding to Linkin Park than most of the other hip-hop/rock hybrids that i've heard, but still just not it.

just came back from another fellowship, called Real Life. my impressions? very similar to the College Life(which was lovingly referred to as the "white fellowship" by me and jon for a bit), in that great worship band(drummer, percussionist, pianist, bassist, 2 guitarists, the worship leader, who is one of the guitarist, had about 5+ fx pedals on the ground next to him, and had an acoustic and electric guitar to work with.), good speaker(guy reminded me of a white, old Joe Lin, whatever that means, ask me if you don't get it), and a LARGE mainly white fellowship. UNLIKE College Life though, no one talked to me AT ALL, and it seems their emphasis is more upon God than fellowship(while you should be concentrating on God, the point of a fellowship is to get together and build each other up), but then again, they are also known as "Campus Crusade," so maybe that explains it. while they have good worship, i feel that delving into this group would cause me to look more into spreading the word than growing and keeping others accountable.

YYYEEEEAAAA... giants won game 5, 16-4. all you need to do now, is clean up on game 6 and then IIIITTTT'SSSSS OOOOOOVVVVVVVVVAAAAA! (and don't get fresh with me, all you ppl who are from SoCal)

heh heh... also just had my 1st cream-sicle in a long time... those things are a real treat. i've forgotten how good they are(now i'll have to grab more the next time i frequent the cafeteria).

if i'm hungry because it's 2 hours past my usual chowtime and my stomach's acting up, i won't complain, i'll take the pain, and remember that it will help me to build myself back towards God. it will help me to remember my dependance upon God, then i'll go eat. besides, it takes about 40 days before your body actually starts feeling the pain from hunger... if you drink adequate water before then, it won't matter(although you'll lose a buncha weight before then i think). all you ppl who don't act like this is true, go read Celebration of Discipline by Richard J. Foster, and look into the Discipline of Fasting.

i am really pissed at the way some ppl who play the Internet Reversi on windows behave... while i get some really good comp against others around the world, some ppl just leave the game without saying anything when they notice that i'm probably going to win... nothing, no "good game," or anything. i just played(i might comment, a REALLY competitive game against) this intermediate chinese player who just left when he(or it could be she) saw that i got 1 corner. nothing, just left. like being a bad sport or something. auuugh, you piss me off. if i weren't about halfway around the globe and so cool-headed on the outside, i would've smacked you upside the head just about now.

Wednesday, October 23, 2002

mwhahahah.... jon fell out of bed while he was sleeping! i think he rolled over too much and just fell right out. i wasn't wearing my glasses, so all i heard was a loud noise similar to dropping a huge block of metal onto the ground from 5ft rather recklessly. my comments when he actually told me what happened during the night?
"good thing i don't have 20/20 vision, or i would've laughed my ass off the rest of the night." ;)
now how did other ppl react? most of the church guys gave a nice hahah, jerm and norm said i should've taped it, laura gave an "awww, poor jon", lewis said it funniest; "what a loser."

keep your eyes open, in order to see dif perspectives from different sides of the picture... (lemme just rest my eyes for a bit, i just got up to the sound of my jarring alarm clock)... oh shoot! it's 7:30 AM! i'm late for chem! (augh, screw it, i already took notes)... and now i find out i didn't study, well, enough for that test. @#%#$%$^!!@?!!?!?

(some recent Davis dormroom conversation between some guy named Brice and me and Jon)
Brice: so you doing anything thursday night? we got bible study, it'd be awesome, come along
Jon: (casually) oh lemme see... (a moment passes by)oh... (casually)i got to go to the World Series
hahahah....

it is currently 10:38 PM desolation time, and my head SO FRIGGGIN HUUUURRRTTTTSSSS!!!

Tuesday, October 22, 2002

just got my test score for Chem... 83. not too bad, except the problem is that i really wanted a 90+ and i felt for the amount of effort that i put in as well as the problems on the test i thought i really knew my stuff... what the hell is going on? and don't tell me that it's curved... that was the RAW score... ?!?!? i hope i find out soon why the heck i got such a messed up grade(i really hope it's an error)... geez it blows when you really think you know it on the test, and then you get your grade and it's totally 20+% lower than you thought. do TAs dock off 13+ pts on a single question?!?

keep your eyes open... always look at perspectives from both sides of the picture. that's what i'm learning.

"what makes what goes down, get back up?"

and as i struggle not to be the hypocrite, i have to keep telling myself, "Reach, don't eat your own words." auuuughh, so hard. i think i have to talk to God sometime.

(some recent Davis dormroom conversation between some guy named Brice and me and Jon)
Brice: so you doing anything thursday night? we got bible study, it'd be awesome, come along
Jon: (casually) oh lemme see... (a moment passes by)oh... (casually)i got to go to the World Series
hahahah....
i think i'm going for the delay pedal.... both the chorus and phase pedal are essentially modified effects pedals... maybe just get adaptors for the stereo flanger and wah that i have, so i won't have to use batteries.

just listened to Delirious- Deeper, the '99 Mezzamorphis album version.... that's so NIIIICCCCEE... so full sounding. i guessing the use of a wah. you HAVE to listen to this! BIG encouragement to get a wah pedal, dist pedal... fender... full band ;)

should i sign up for IM vball? should i? 5'11 ppl don't get too many spikes...

Hitler Show on Family Guy's hilarious!(don't worry you pacifists... it's nothing racial)
Kool-Aid Man! mwhahahah!

list of notable Proverbs I wrote down(so far), as well as some comments:
4:18-just sounds awesome; i will look to blue horizons, anyone? ;)
9:10-fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom- nuf said
10:25-the righteous have what it takes to stand a storm
11:2-pride leads to disgrace, but humility leads to wisdom
11:4-wealth's worthless in the days of doom, but righteousness delivers
11:28-see 11:4; just another way of saying it; don't trust in your riches
11:30-fruit of the righteous=tree of life; remember this? the tree of life seen in the beginning of time which Adam and Eve DIDN'T EAT?
13:7-better to pretend you're nothing when you have everything than vise-versa... is Soloman telling us to lie? or is he hinting at humility?
13:8-see 11:4; another way of saying it
14:9-make amends for sin... fools mock it, but goodwill's found amongst the upright
14:12-what seems a right way to man... leads to death
14:21-God commands us to love our neighbor, so if we despise those, we sin... we are blessed if we are kind to the needy though
14:26-A God-fearing man has a secure fortress... so it protects his children
14:27-Fear of the Lord=fountain of life... turns a man from the snares of death
15:3-God's everywhere, he sees everything
15:4-A tongue that heals=tree of life(think of the tree Adam and Eve DIDN'T EAT), and a deceitful tongue crushes the spirit

Monday, October 21, 2002

chorus, delay, or phase pedal? one thing's for sure... no octave pedal... found out you can't play chords on it w/o messing up the sound! i would've meant to buy that for uping my chord sounds, but i guess that's a no-no. that's what the other pedals are for(btw, i'm still figuring out if a phase pedal's basically a flanger pedal except more options)

ugh... arm cramps from chem... prelab AND lab report, both of which need to be written instead of typed...

i think i should hit the SNOOZE button on my alarm clock when i'm getting up... i tend to shut off the alarm, then say to myself, just lay down for a few more minutes, and of course, i'm back asleep, except this time i've got nothing to pull me back up... cept maybe jon's alarm clock. but he gets up a LOT later than i do. it should be only after i've gotten up that i turn the alarm off.

currently it's 11:10 PM here in davis... time for a shower, then get back, and maybe jam some before i hit the bed... g'luck for all you guys who know me who are taking a midterm or a test or quiz or something this week... i'll hold up a prayer for all of ya.

Sunday, October 20, 2002

note to self; NEVER go to sleep past 1:00; it's already pushing my ability to get up; i should really go to bed around 11:30; me and jon missed an oppurtunity to visit some church here in davis due to that. at least i visited some new fellowship during friday; AACF. comparing it CTCC youth group when i was a freshman... small size, ignorant ppl to the newcomers, good worship attitude.

i should write down the funny stuff i remember from family guy; one episode:
Peter: so you want me to whack a guy? off a guy? whack off a guy?
another part of the episode:
On board navigation computer: There is a fork in the road... (russian accent)In Russia, road forks you!

another episode(which was FUNNY)
Chris: is dad mad at me?
Lois: No, of course not... now get some cereal and meet me at the 10 inches or less line... ITEMS!

hehe... and Mintos

I am tired of byron style food in the Davis Cafeteria!

yeah... whatever... worship tomorrow... with me and God!