Thursday, June 07, 2007

from 8 pm to midnight this thursday, sonic's giving away a free root beer float...

too bad there's no sonic close nearby; i looked it up, and the closest one's in tracy, ca(48 miles away).

i don't even know why they bother putting up those numerous commercials if there's no restaurants for it.

there was one in woodland, ca, but i never bothered going to it while attending UC Davis. drink sizes looked crappy small.

moral of the story is: always learn to cook your own food. then, you can have as large portions as you want.

---

i thought stephan pastis couldn't draw lions. i guess he figured out he could just draw bears with a mane and whiskers. his lions are cooler than the crocodiles though. (we can skip the high five if you want)
drummer and a beat box champion playing off of each other

---

guess since transformers is like 1 month away, i should spill more on my thoughts about transformers.

'k, so i followed transformers: robots in disguise for a brief span during my high school days(it was one of those new versions on fox kids that the purists hated). but after watching it for a while, i'd have to say that while optimus prime is obviously the most famous autobot, that wasn't my favorite. it was actually ultra magnus, the brother of optimus prime. mainly because of his attitude and his weapons(had a minigun; that's always awesome) and maybe the only autobot that could fly in the series. oh yeah; he was portrayed as a loner(i seem to like "loner cartoon heroes"; batman, batman beyond, snake eyes, of course, ultra magnus)

here's his profile on wikipedia

he actually appeared VERY late in the series. like close to the end. below's the 1st episode in which he makes an appearance on the program. he almost singlehandedly takes out most of the decepticons which so easily cause trouble for all of the others.

ultra magnus
part 1
part 2
part 3

and another thing is that in the older transformer cartoons, he was seen as simply a follower; took orders from optmus prime, was content with it. in this series, they give him that friction between him and optimus, mainly coming from him. if you kept watching the episodes, you would've seen him slowly tone it down, but never liked taking orders from optimus. here's the followup episode explaining most of it.

forced fusion
part 1
part 2
part 3

which brings me to the last reason why i liked him; after that episode, he and optimus could combine to form omega prime(supposedly the strongest autobot in the transformer universe) whenever they joined right hands(magnus didn't have to drain optimus' energy to do it again). (something about a laser minigun's too cool) when i was watching the series, up to that point, i didn't ever think optimus could combine with any autobot. i mentioned how magnus tones down his attitude towards prime to basically being just a partner, and so in the later episodes, you see them combining a lot more.

but here's the standard scene whenever they form up

so, given all that, i was slightly bummed after reading the wiki to find out ultra magnus wasn't going to be in the film. of course, there's like, so many transformers in the universe? so you wouldn't have that much time to do that. AND, omega prime would pretty much have no equal in strength. (if you read the wiki on ultra magnus, and followed the link to omega prime's page, you would see that even megatron needed to "evolve" in order to surpass his strength)

Wednesday, June 06, 2007

videos galore:

just... watch
(LOL)

hahahahahaha

go bulls(bball fans it's not what you think it is)

how to rave

let's NOT play the feud
(name an animal with 3 letters in its name... LOL)

Monday, June 04, 2007

transformers the movie new trailer

epic win... dude, after watching that, who DOESN'T want to see the movie?

(i wonder if the autobots and decepticons have no voice roles in the movie; seems that way; that would give this a sorta "godzilla" feel to it)