some random ish on my mind
chauncey will FINALLY make the all-star lineup i believe. however, i believe it'll definitely be as a reserve; people have too much love for dwade still(dunno how much of that is tied to the fact that shaq is chained to this guy, but hey, facts are facts). chauncey in fact, might make the case for REGULAR MVP this year; if pistons win the championship this year, i could imagine this might all go on his resume:
reserve all-star
2nd all-defensive team
regalar season mvp
finals mvp
rip, not as much luck. but he's doing a great job. not as much compared to chauncey though.
------
pistons are doing great; but the year they won the championship, their bench was huge for them. the wallaces seem to be playing a LOT of minutes which makes them more injury-prone, so you got to wonder when darko's finally gonna achieve his potential, or are they going to trade him away for a quick fix.
------
i agree with the all-star lineup marc stein's got; here's more or less my picks for starting 5 and coach:
west coach: poppovich(props to avery though, and deantoni for preaching defense and holding the fort w/o amare)
guards: nash, kobe
forwards: duncan, dirk(w/mavs being the only team remotely close to detroit and spurs, are we really gonna put kg in there?)
center: camby(mvp performance on the defensive end; something china hasn't really gotten from yao yet)
east coach: flip(no contest)
guards: chauncey, iverson(kinda shaky about ai, but then i'm not sure about dwade in his place; maybe rip, but he pales compared to mr. big shot)
forwards: lebron, jermaine(hard to make a really good argument here; east forwards don't seem THAT dominant as a whole)
center: ben(b/c shaq hasn't played that many games yet)
-----
not really TOO computer-savvy, so i gotta ask this question; can you record music(.wmw's, .wav's, and .mp3's) onto dvd-r's and then play them back on a regular cd player? they seem to be able to store a LOT more stuff on them(4.7 gb, 120 min compared to 700 mb, 80 min for a cd-r). granted, i don't have any movies on my computer, and i realized ucd's cpu's cd drives are cd-rw, not cd, so i could take a load of crap off of my memory-laden laptop.
the music on my laptop's about 300 mb, so it's not too bad. easily coverable. and the abandonware and emulators i'm hoping to copy should easy be covered with a 700 mb disc(abandonware is typically small; zipped, each game doesn't even reach 1 mb, except for maybe a few). there's various other video and music stuff on my cpu, but nothing too huge.
my virtua fighter matches in total, though, are quite huge; i think i have just slightly over 1 gb of match reel play. a lot of it is akira and sarah players, which are my fave characters.
-----
i might get another usb drive before break's over; seems my old 128 mb drive broke or something. and i wouldn't want my 512 mb drive breaking during school; just something for backup.
-----
i will have after today, 4 chapters of revelation left to go. strangely enough, i consider it just barely grazing the surface, although i've probably spent 1 hour each chapter. that's because i've probably only cross-referenced using two kjv bibles. when i start trying to look up the historical facts of what has occurred, and using bible software to quick-search similar words, well, that might take a lot longer, especially considering my winter break's almost over.
revelations, daniel, ezekiel, isaiah, jeremiah, and various other prophetic books in the bible; now there's where the fun's at.
-----
b/c i'm writing this at the library, i don't have the notes i wrote down this sunday during sermon and sunday school. there's notes i usually write when i'm following the speaker, but see something in the kjv that others don't see in the niv or nasb or nlt or *shudders* the message. but for the sake of not interrupting class or sermon(cause you know how if i brought up the kjv, i would probably have to bring up my beliefs about it, and the evidence, which would open another whole can of worms and eat up all the time during the sermon and sunday school), i keep quiet, but let my mind wander, and see if the verses i look takes me anywhere else.
btw, it was nice to see a lotta old faces during christmas sunday and saturday service. laura, the hwang sisters, the yeh siblings, mandy, the liu sisters, the lin brothers, morris, jean(heh; she comes back from taiwan just when joe takes off for japan then taiwan! somebody's trying not to become a fob, someone else is!). tomio and alice were back too, and i did not expect sam to attend our church AND our sunday school(when's the last time THAT happened?). the usual suspects from college were back though; alice, justin, me.
-----
last thing for tonight, cause i should get home, and shower, finish my 2nd chapter for today, and start on a rough resume to send to phil. as well as eat.
have you noticed an increase of the use of "the message" bible? i have. dunno how prevalent this is at canaan, but it seems to be a lot more common in college. basically, the premise behind it is that something god's message just isn't hitting the people like the other bible versions are. supposedly, the bible needs to be in OUR language for it to really hit home. that's why it was created.
i have problems with it. lemme try not to get into the whole kjv thing. or how the scriptures they use are corrupted(i'm pretty sure they used the 2 corrupted versions of the greek manuscripts accepted by the roman catholic church). lemme just try to explain it in another ways why i feel bad about it.
if you've ever read it, have you ever gotten a sense that they are cheapening the word of God? it seems like it. because they're using idioms common to our language, and not theirs. you can look for yourself; look on the side of my webpage for a link titled "bible search" and try "the message" bible for yourself. try psalm 1 in the niv or kjv. now try it in the message. do you see what i'm talking about? try other verses. basically, you get the feeling that they concentrate way too hard on getting the bible "in our commonday language" that there are chunks of meaning taken out of the bible.
now, i realize some people aren't as blessed as me in the intellectual sense(i'm not trying to brag in what i have saying that it's more than it is; i acknowledge that seemingly one of the unique gifts God has graciously given me is love of the scriptures, b/c i can pore over stuff from revelation and daniel and be fascinated with it, whetheras some people will get bored or confused to death), so they might need some self-help interpreting and reading the bible. I'M OK WITH THAT. what i have a problem is, is that often people take this travesty as the actual word of God.
i'm very sure the kjv is quite readable; it's not as ancient as people believe it to be. when i first tried reading it, i thought it was going to be chock-full of thee's and thou's and thy's and the like. the sentence structure may take a sight bit to get used to(reads something similar to what yoda of star wars sounds like sometimes), but nothing too hard.
but i guess when people believe in a meaning-for-meaning translation over a word-for-word translation, then we'll believe in different versions eh? strange; if i recall, when a court wants to translate a dead person's will to another language so that the descendants can understand, they use word-for-word translation(dynamic equivalence), so that the meaning of the dead person will not get mixed with a possible meaning from the translator. after all, Jesus has harsh punishments for those who tamper with the word of God, adding to it, OR taking away from it.
(i'll make this short, cause i just opened one specific argument); critics make the claim that you can't translate every single word perfectly into another language, and they are correct. even the kjv writers knew that. without adding any words, the bible translated would make no sense. however, you can see the honesty of the kjv translators, because when they added words, ALL of them are in italics. none of the words which other bible editors have added or taken away are specially marked in any sense.
now, should we remove those italicized words? perhaps, but if we did, we'd have to remove ALL of them. if you claim to only remove this and keep that, you are presuming to have the spiritual authority from God to do so. think about that for a second.
remember that scripture has stated that every single word of God is pure.
that is all from me today; if you want me to elaborate at a future time, you know how to reach me. good night.
Wednesday, December 28, 2005
Monday, December 26, 2005
something about game 7 finals losses must really bring out the best in teams
cause detroit's soooo gooood this season, it's really boggled my mind. they're on pace to finish as possibly one of the best records in nba history. i did not expect detroit to beat san antonio by 15 pts and hold them to 70. yes, manu wasn't there, but the key was in the boards.
it's really sad that detroit and san antonio get no respect. that people prefer the drama of kobe and shaq over team play.
(heh; i think people seriously need to play some arcade fighting games vs other people and read some of s-kill's articles on playing to win; then they might get a clue the way i have.)
and with the fact that when i watched the heat play, and they didn't really seem THAT dominant against the lakers, i would not be surprised if detroit brings the rape when the heat visit them on thursday.
but i'm expecting spurs to be ready after january, so it's not gonna be a cakewalk. after all, pistons were like that last season.
but for now, it's really exciting to see detroit almost mow over teams at will during the regular season.
cause detroit's soooo gooood this season, it's really boggled my mind. they're on pace to finish as possibly one of the best records in nba history. i did not expect detroit to beat san antonio by 15 pts and hold them to 70. yes, manu wasn't there, but the key was in the boards.
it's really sad that detroit and san antonio get no respect. that people prefer the drama of kobe and shaq over team play.
(heh; i think people seriously need to play some arcade fighting games vs other people and read some of s-kill's articles on playing to win; then they might get a clue the way i have.)
and with the fact that when i watched the heat play, and they didn't really seem THAT dominant against the lakers, i would not be surprised if detroit brings the rape when the heat visit them on thursday.
but i'm expecting spurs to be ready after january, so it's not gonna be a cakewalk. after all, pistons were like that last season.
but for now, it's really exciting to see detroit almost mow over teams at will during the regular season.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)