Saturday, October 16, 2004

ucla got pwned dot com by cal...

usc pwned dot com arizona state...

but auburn had THE play of the day... a triple reverse handoff to a long bomb, connecting to devin aromashodu, who then ran for a 67 yrd td... that was so nasty... i have never seen such a flashy offensive play like that for so long...
fellowship was fun... the drawing other ppl's faces time though was messed up...

call me stupid, but i REALLY realized the full potential of the m4a1 when playing tonight... in cs...

i always assumed the pros/cons of having a silenced m4a1 were these:

+silenced; absolutely no sound
-weaker damage per hit(due to the muffled sound); it's not TERRIBLY weaker when silenced(m4's still pretty powerful even when silenced), but it's a slight downgrade
-worse accuracy per hit

the 1st two were more or less on the money; however, after i fooled around a bit, the 3rd needs to be modified; the 1st hit that you fire is going to be a bit more accurate if you are standing still with an unsilenced m4; HOWEVER, the silenced m4a1 has less kickback afterwards, so you don't have to wait as long after firing in 2-bursts to regain good accuracy. stupid me... so, whereas i used to stick w/the unsilenced m4a1 til near the end, when i was alone, and then stuck the silencer on, i now think that maybe it's a better idea to stick w/the silenced version, til maybe i get into more up-close situations or circumstances where i need to fire through a boulder to reach the enemy, to use it. and you can't argue w/results; i ended up doing a LOT better whenever i played w/a silenced m4 today than not.

Friday, October 15, 2004

http://sports.espn.go.com/nba/trainingcamp04/columns/story?id=1901715

wow... joe dumars seems hella smart... here's some interesting snippets:

"Dumars grew up in rural Louisiana, the son of a father who worked in a local poultry factory.
While he was naturally gifted at sports, he never wanted to rely on it as a crutch to better his situation. After practice each day he'd sneak into the library to read books, a no-no for jocks in his community."

"Before his 14-year career ended, he began planning for the future – a future that initially didn't include the NBA.
"I had no intention of getting involved in the league when I retired," Dumars said.
"I just went out and starting looking for something that challenged me and would help me succeed after my playing days were done. Basketball was my job, but it wasn't necessarily my life."
Dumars started his first business, Joe Dumars' Fieldhouse, in 1994, six years before he retired.
The Fieldhouse is an indoor-recreational facility that gave kids and adults access to basketball and hockey courts for round the clock pick-up games or organized leagues.
The business has blossomed to the point that last year the Fieldhouse hosted 182 different local basketball teams in tournaments and another 50,000 pick-up games.
His new facility, set to open in just off the Eight Mile road in Detroit later this month, has the potential to even be bigger.
Two years later, Dumars founded DTI, Detroit Technology Inc. The business sells interior parts like leather seats and trunk systems to automakers like GM, Ford, Chrysler and Toyota.
If you own a P.T. Cruiser, Lincoln Navigator, a Ford Expedition or a Toyota Camary, chances are you sitting on something created by Joe Dumars. "

"With a wealth of experience on the court and six years of business experience off it, Dumars decide to buck conventional NBA wisdom and build the Pistons based on proven business principles.
"There's a sense of discipline about running an automotive business that I thought would translate," Dumars said. "

""Say what you will about us," Dumars said, "but know that we're not trying to follow the pack. We're trying to lead it.""
i am so getting "alter bridge's" 1st cd... i can't believe the talent that mark tremonti exhibits on it, just by listening to the samples on the website... it sounds so much like ol skool rock. GOOD ol skool rock. i don't think i could play any of the songs he plays on the cd anytime soon... all these awesome techniques that you ONLY hear from ol skool stuff, and never find these days... and i'm not just talking about the riffs; it's the way he's playing them that make them stand out. utilizing the wah pedal to full effect, how he hammers with his left fingers to play the note, instead of strumming it, bending to emphasize the note, pull-offs, vibrato, etc, etc... not to mention his left finger speed is amazing... he's seriously way... too... crazy... yeah, it's hard and heavy. but the techniques... i've seen my bro do stuff like this, so i know... i have a visual picture of what mark is somewhat doing with each song... it's too crazy. maybe that's why i like hard rock so much... you don't see ppl in any other genre doing stuff like this on their guitars... they just strum it... the rare gems of hard rock and classic rock are top tier guitar, period.

and i'm scratching the fantasy of getting an electric violin a while after i get a job; after listening to yellowcard, a punk rock band which SUPPOSEDLY sets itself apart from other bands by having an electric violinist, i don't hear the difference. i really don't. i couldn't even figure out that they had a violinist until reading it; just sounded like a 2nd guitarist.

here's to the warriors making the playoffs this year... it's about time...
here's to the pistons repeating(if warriors don't make finals, of course :D)... and proving the doubters wrong again, and showing that they play the best d in the league(who else can hold so many teams under 70 pts? right after they got rasheed last year, their d just REALLY caught on fire and they even held the showtime lakers to under 70 pts one finals game... that was sweet)... ben wallace better go crazy blocking shots again... it's why i love him so much.
here's to the lakers not making the playoffs... given that they're the lakers, they'll probably be in the post season eventually, but if they could not make the playoffs this year, that'd be so sweet...
here's to the celtics actually doing better this year... paul pierce better be on fire now that he doesn't have to do the majority of the dribbling...
here's to the mavs sucking... because quite frankly, i hate erick dampier for leaving us, let alone leave to dallas, of all places... it's like the equivalent of giving up shaq for gs... i dislike him the same way sam dislikes arenas for leaving... if i ever go to a dallas vs gs game, i'm booing damp everytime he touches the ball...

here's to someone stapling shaq's mouth shut for the rediculously stupid things he says, and somebody else crushing kobe's love for money...

there's probably more nba shoutouts of mine, but these are the main ones... damn... the west is like one huge power struggle right now... just for fun, if i were to name the top 5 of each conference:

west:
1.spurs
2.twolves
3.kings
4.grizzlies
5.nuggets

1 and 2 are no-brainers, maybe even tied, or exchangeable; both are well-balanced, and can pretty much hang w/anyone. i put spurs over though, cause their backcourt talent is slightly better, and duncan has a better center to help him out; IF(and that's the big word), parker gets on fire, he can be very hard to contain and then just draws d to him like metal shards to a magnet when he's running amok. after that, it gets kinda iffy, IMO; you could throw in rockets, maybe even dallas(or a ton of other teams, to be honest; utah you could make a case for). kings i'm still wondering about, cause they lost divac, and it seems a bit of their chemistry, but if they learn to play d again and just torch others on the perimeter, i think they can hang. grizzlies did surprisingly good last year, that's why i put them there. nuggets have kenyon martin, so yea... i am P.R.A.Y.ING DOT COM that lakers don't make this list... but then, they DO have kobe...

east:
1.pistons
2.pacers
3.heat
4.celtics
5.cavs

no 1's a no brainer; they can hold any offense down, and easily the deepest team, so they're the obvious number 1 dot com. i put pacers above heat because they're deeper, and j.o. bulked up during the summer. but that doesn't mean heat sucks; if you have a selfless player and shaq, that's already a good team. 4 and 5 i'm still kinda iffy about. however, both seem to be well-balanced teams, so they stand a chance. on the celtic side, mark blount seemed to get better. and the addition of payton means pierce can concentrate upon shooting. cavs have lebron, so yea... you could also make a case for philly since samuel is only going to get better defensively. nets aren't there cause they lost kenyon martin.

Thursday, October 14, 2004

Hahahaha...

If Ben Wallace came up w/this commercial idea himself, he is seriously more funny than I originally thought.

so what if they're preseason wins... i'll take em if gs can get them; it shows that their benchers are not bad players.

Wednesday, October 13, 2004

This is current of me as of today, I guess, for your reading pleasure:

Music equipment:
Fender Squier II Stratocaster electric guitar
Boss SD-2 Dual Overdrive effects pedal
Dod FX-75B Stereo Flanger effects pedal
Dod FX55B Supra Distortion effects pedal
Dunlop Crybaby Wah Wah effects pedal
Fender Deluxe 112 amplifier
Peavey Blazer 158 amplifier
Various electric guitar strings
Various guitar cables of different lengths
Jim Dunlop .73 mm guitar picks

Other equipment:
Panasonic earbuds
Power Strip
Power Strip saver
Boss PSA-120T AC Adaptor
Electro-Harmonix AC Adaptor
Radioshack 1/4" mono to 1/8" stereo adapter
Toshiba laptop
Yamaha speakers

Main software:
Cakewalk Music Creator 2K3 software
Hammerhead Rhythm Station software
Audio Phonics Guitar Tuner software
dB power AMP Music Converter software

Main guitar setup:

Stratocaster -> Dual Overdrive pedal -> Flanger pedal -> Wah pedal -> Amplifier -> Laptop -> Speakers/Headphones

I run a guitar cable out the "preamp out" or "output" end of the amplifier, then connect it to the 1/4" mono to 1/8" stereo adapter, and then plug that into the sound card slot on my laptop. This is the main way I set up my equipment for recording, or tuning. I also run out of the output section of the sound card of my laptop to some yamaha speakers. However, when I do vocals, I plug some headphones/earbuds in instead, so that the mic doesn't pick up any extra sound; I also have to unplug the amp from the laptop and connect a mic in its place.
this happened a WHILE back on aim when jerm was still @home... but it was so friggin funny that when i pulled up the .txt file i had to break out in laughter... here we go... (caution: do NOT read if you do NOT like having too much bad imagery shoved in your mind...)

jerm: hey. rich.. where do you buy your sheet music from?
me: i don't haha
jerm: oh. lol darn
me: well, when i was still in violin, maybe from world of music
me: but unlikely, seeing my last violin teacher just photocopied my music
jerm: haha
jerm: i had the same teacher as yu
jerm: he would just walk outside to the copier
jerm: and the thing would move left then right
jerm: it was annoying. for me at least haha
me: haha
me: haha me and sam were talking about me adding weight training to my hops program, then i suggested swimming
me: and then we just sorta started talking about swimming
me: did you ever get 1st in your comp?
jerm: haha
jerm: yea
jerm: all the time
jerm: butterfly and backstroke
jerm: actually i only got first like 4 times.. haha
jerm: i got mostly 5ths and 7ths
me: i see
me: but that's still good; i never got 1st... EVER
jerm: really??
jerm: that's proly cuz you swam at the hard meets
me: i think once, if i had chosen to do 100 m backstroke, i would've gotten 1st
me: cause there were only 2 swimmers in my age group that day
me: haha
me: and so i would've swam backstroke solo :-D
jerm: lol
me: but i did get 4th at a finals, so i guess that counts for something
me: i forgot the exact name of the swim meet then, but yea, that was cool, although i took it hard on myself that i could've got better
jerm: haha
jerm: i think you woulda been good at breaststroke
me: haha just like tim duncan :-)
me: i wanted to be better at butterfly, but i just don't have the arm strength or the ab strength
jerm: haha butterfly is sooo hard
me: i'd maybe get about 40 yrds in good form, and then i'd fall apart
jerm: haha
jerm: that's why when i dive i spend like half the lap underwater
jerm: and then sprint the last half
jerm: and win heheh
me: haha
me: i had this thing i used to do during swim meets
me: to get myself to burst
me: like maybe about 10 yrds outside of the other side, i'd stop coming up to breathe
me: and tell myself not to breathe til i get to the wall
me: so in that sense, it forces you to swim that much harder to get to the wall
jerm: haha
jerm: but you lose sooo much oxygen
me: heh
me: not really
jerm: lol
me: although it works great for freestyle
jerm: your just lucky.. you didn't go like won't breathe until wall
jerm: and faint ahaa
me: not so good w/butterfly
me: i think the breathing is part psychological
jerm: haha
me: when you start getting excited, you start needing to come up for air a bit more
jerm: but your workign your muscles so hard
me: if you just calm down your mind, you can push a bit more underwater
me: true, true
me: but i think part of the burning in swimming naturally comes from your lungs
jerm: yea
me: since swimming's prob the only sport where you have that additional factor of oxygen to worry about
jerm: but once you swim a lot. your lungs expands a lot and you can hold more
me: that's true, so more time underwater :-)
me: now you start not breathing @20 yrds out :-)
jerm: haha
me: man, so wish it was high school again
me: i would've tried to stay on the sunnyvale swim team
jerm: hehe
jerm: i woulda stayed on DACA
jerm: and not gotten so fat
me: instead of opting out
me: cause the main reason i quit was cause i thought i took so much timeout of hw
me: but it's not like i used my time wisely after that anyways
jerm: oh
jerm: hahaha
jerm: if we only knew how to mangae our time wisely
me: i'm sure you would've benefitted from swimming a couple extra years too
jerm: yea
jerm: wouldn't have gained so much weight
me: haha i never got to swim against you
me: i went to daca for a meet once though
me: but i got burned
jerm: haha
me: everybody at daca's so good i think
jerm: maybe it was by ME!
me: haha
me: prob
me: wouldn't be surprised
jerm: lol
me: plus i miss the good ol days when ppl wouldn't mock you for wearing a speedo ohimean thong
me: haha
jerm: hha
jerm: mine wore down near the crotch/butt area once
jerm: and i didn't know
me: haha
jerm: so i bent over to dive
jerm: and ppl behind me were like.. OMG I SEE YOU JEREMY I SEE YOUR PRIVATES
jerm: AND YOUR BUTTCRACK
me: hahahahahahahahhahahahahha
jerm: i was like wha???
jerm: and hella embarassed..
jerm: i hella messed up my dive and went belly flop
jerm: hhe.. good 'ol days
me: dude, have i ever told you when my speedo got RAGGED UP?
jerm: nope!
me: shoot man, worst 2 hrs of my life
me: basically, my speedo got pretty damn ripped up usually
me: but i never really consider it, cause, it never gets that bad
me: but once it started ripping pretty badly in the back
jerm: haha
jerm: ripping???
jerm: lol
me: and so the other guys kept going "hey rich i can see your crack" one practice
me: but i was too timid to tell the coach i wanted to quit for the day cause my speedo was ripped up in the back showing off my butt
me: so i just kept swimming
me: and it just got worse
me: shoot man why did i even wear that thing? i should've just swam naked, it would've been the same thing
me: and every time i finished a set i would like turn my back so it faced the wall so ppl wouldn't see, but they knew, oh they knew
jerm: hahaha
me: and just kept making fun of me :-)
jerm: LOL
jerm: it was ripping!!??!!!
jerm: lol
me: yea
jerm: pretty much you were just swimming w/ a loincloth ahha
me: from top to bottom... in the back
me: pretty much
me: i'm only glad the coach didn't laugh at me
jerm: how'd you get out of the pool?
me: that would've done it in
jerm: hehe
me: jumped and ran :-)
me: for the locker :-)
jerm: hahaa
me: covering my ass with my hand
jerm: lol i can seey ou doign that for some reason eheh
me: and THEN for the stupidest reason i still want to have a shower
me: so you know how like swim showers are all together in one place?
me: more mockery and shame for me
jerm: yup
jerm: lol
me: yea...
jerm: shoulda jsut showered naked =)
me: haha
me: eh, why not... should've, would've been the same
jerm: roflmao
me: well, the only plus side was that the speedo did cover my privates
jerm: this definitely desereves a roflmao
me: like adam w/fig leaves :-)
me: now i know how he must've felt after eating that apple
me: damn adam, if he didn't eat that apple, i would've felt NO SHAME
jerm: hahahahahaa
jerm: alrite time for me to sleep
jerm: i'll ttyl
jerm: have a goodngiht
me: later man

Monday, October 11, 2004

We... WON?!?!?!??!?

stop bsing me... NINERS ACTUALLY WON A FRIGGIN GAME?!?!?!?!?

(on the other hand, i'd rather they lose this game if it would've kept julien peterson fresh; he's a pro bowler and clearly our best player, let alone our best defensive player; where does that leave us, if this niner team is not one which airs it up as well anymore, and where our d was supposedly a bit better in quite a few years, but now loses a big chunk of it? d# wins championships after all...)

i know by myself i don't have the strength to do it, but with god's strength i can do it... that is my motivation these days for spurring on and not letting off...

everybody with your fist raised high/ lemme hear your battlecry tonight/ stand beside or step aside/ we're on the frontline

-chorus from pillar's frontline

Sunday, October 10, 2004

http://www.irenejackson.com/genres.html

interesting indeed... i used to say what i liked was "rock," and left it at that; i couldn't really classify what i liked about it, only that i tended to like the more "talented" versions of it like guns 'n' roses and creed, but that i also tended to like the heavier versions of this stuff, like um, alter bridge and 12 stones. this website kinda helps sort that out. and i agree w/the website; a lot of the stuff we pass as alternative rock these days(jars of clay) is more akin to indie than alternative rock. in fact, WHAT THE HELL IS ALTERNATIVE ROCK? it's probably one of the most vague terms ever given to music. some of the stuff i've heard on this genre ranges from all the way soft to all the way hard.

so basically, with that website in mind, i changed my profile yet again(i seem to spend more time changing my profile than updating my blog).

and yeah, the 70s was the golden age of rock. talent abound.

which brings me to another thought... perhaps the deterioration of rock has been linked to another culprit; the increasing emphasis upon rhythm, and deemphasis upon melody and harmony. well, harmony's more or less always been there. but it seems that we seem to take the rhythm more seriously now. you could say this is partially linked to R&B and hip-hop, two genres greatly associated with rhythm and not harmony and melody. people want something they can dance to or something. it's pretty damn hard to dance to 70s style rock. but anyways, just go listen to any punk song on the internet. it sounds like they're hacking the same 3 power chords over and over again, and singing/screaming some weird thing. no variation of melody. rock has never really been danceable to, but at the least, the modern stuff is a bit more danceable. granted, the 70s rock wasn't exactly nice on the ears when it came to the vocals(remember the good ol feminine vocals coming from a male's throat? since i still listen to this stuff, i most certainly do), but i'm referring to the guitar, the essential soul of rock. guys like eddie van halen, jimi hendrix, guns n roses, (my brother used to LOVE rush) used to go nuts on their axes, and you could tell it. nowadays, those type of guys are rare... because of what i've said; the overemphasis upon rhythm. (mark tremonti, i salute you)

of course, i can't tell people who love indie and alternative and pop to drop their preferences and go for the throwback, since maybe these artists aren't trying to go for that type of sound, but i dunno... i end up feeling like they aren't bringing out their talent fully in their songs... do i throw a 2nd yr violinist into an ochestra just cause that's the minimum time he needs (if there was such a requirement), so he can (supposedly) start making money as soon as possible? it feels something like that these days; bands simply forming cause they can make money at the earliest point in time, not because they have good abilities and are willing to flex it despite what the public wants. "hey! i've learned 3 power chords! let's form a band!" i guess what i'm trying to say is, don't bring down classical rock, and don't act like the modern stuff you listen to is the best thing ever. some of the stuff these days is good, but the overall picture is that it's a bit... lacking. because music companies are about making money, not about talent. why else are the purists saying "rock is dead?"