Saturday, August 07, 2004

this is an audio post - click to play
this is an audio post - click to play

the time at which i took this screen capture was about 3:20 PM in davis. killer weather alright; i didn't know it'd come back w/a vengence; it seemed recently that it was getting cooler, but i guess i was wrong; i need to stop studying and grab a slurpee cause it's that hot outside. Posted by Hello
Penny Arcade!

LOL!
ESPN.com: Page 2 - For Celts, this Glove fits

i don't know whether to be happy or disappointed... rick fox and gary payton are now both celtics??!?!??!?

then again, most bay area ppl don't like derek fisher being on gsw either; we're all in the same boat.

Thursday, August 05, 2004

woohoo! i can nail EWGF/WS+2, b,f+2,1>2, df+4,4 a LOT more consistently now. i think i found the MAGICAL TIMING OF HAPPINESS!

saw the most incredible thing yesterday; an ant about the relative size of this -> - was pulling a dry blade of grass the size of THIS -> ------------------- it was more or less attached to his behind as he was chugging it along, but he had no help as he was yanking it along... it totally amazed me... if you think about it, humans have no real advantage over other animals and creatures other than our intellect... if you think about athletic abilities, we simply pale compared to other creatures. if we moved our legs the speed of ants, we'd probably not need any cars.

ai turned out clutch when usa needed it the most, and i'm happy for him, but i think if they were really good, they wouldn't have needed to be clutch like that to win; like larry brown says, this is pretty much their offensive receipe for success:

-give the ball in to duncan deep and let him do his low post stuff
-hit some outside js when ppl are open
and last but not least:
-play some hardcore d(technically, this IS a larry brown team, so they NEED to play some d)

http://sports.espn.go.com/espn/page2/story?page=simmons/040804

there's a lotta points taken from the article about ways to improve team usa, but here's some interesting quotes that had me grinning:

-he recommends our (now departed, *sniff sniff*) brian cardinal as our bench:
"Cardinal: You bring him in when you need an energy boost -- namely, when you're flat, when you're getting out-hustled and you need someone to make a three and run back up the court screaming and pumping his arms."

-like i said, shooters, not gangstas :D
"2. You would never, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, EVER see someone like Stephon Marbury on our team."

-some quotes that had me grinning, when he talked about guys from the pistons that could've been a great help:
"4. We would play Rip Hamilton more.
He's only the best scorer on a team that just won the NBA championship. You can run him off picks, he's tireless, never takes bad shots, never goes beyond his means. He gets better when it matters. He's been a winner at every level. And he's a good guy.
By the way? He's not on the team. Unfortunately, he turned down our invitation after we waited until the last minute to ask him.
(I will now peel the skin off my body.)"

-prince on bench
"Prince: Put it this way: You wouldn't see Italian guys getting wide-open looks for 40 straight minutes with Tayshaun around." *damn right!*

-now this is where i actually might agree totally
"(Which reminds me: If we really wanted to win the gold, why wouldn't we just send our defending NBA champions? Imagine the 2004 Pistons headed to Athens in 10 days, completely intact with their coach, only with Duncan sliding into Mehmet Okur's spot and Corey Haim filling the role of Darko? Would anyone be against this? Seriously, anyone?)"
the only ppl who MIGHT disagree are the pistons themselves; it's a novel idea, but you're essentially putting the defending world champs 2 steps behind everybody else in the league when the next season starts.

nobody from my class' around dkc during SS2. ok, there's a few. played some stupidly rediculous games yesterday; one was dividing up the fellowship into guys and girls, and both have to write all these names of people on slips of paper, then dump them in a big box. a volunteer from each group represents them and draws a slip of paper and tries to describe the person w/o the actual name; gain 1 pt if you can say the exact name, pass if you can't. timed. so you have all the guys writing down names like "samaki walker" "tayshaun prince" "dwayne wade" etc, and all the girls are writing down names like worship leaders, actors they like, stuff like that. the classic one of the night was when one of the guys goes,
"YOU DIDN'T KNOW WHO RICK FLAIR WAS? YOU COULD'VE JUST DONE 'WWWOOOOOOO!' "
then there's the game where all the ppls was divided into groups of 4. you have to get all your guys onto this one piece of newspaper. then you divide it in half, repeat. here's some classic quotes off that:
"you're using the sacramento bee???? the classified ads? wth? yolo county is nothing! that's like no space at all! you should've gotten the la times instead!"
(one group had 1 guy and 3 girls)
emcee:so are you guys all cuddled up now? let's move on to our next game-
guy: NO MAN! let's keep playing! i think we can still fit ppl onto this paper even if we divide it in half.
(for the last attempt at getting all the ppl on the paper, he had one girl piggyback'd upon him and 2 girls bear hugging him)

they ended the free 7-11 music dl promotion; but i actually liked the process. and now they have these prepaid cards you can use, so if you're jittery about credit card online purchases, you can now prepay, then go online and dl. the only thing is that i would really like a cd burner so i can actually listen to the songs when in a car.

Tuesday, August 03, 2004

ESPN.com - OLY/SUMMER04/BASKETBALL - International exposure: Team USA loses to Italy

it's sad really... the only guys it appears from the article on USA who appeared to do their thing on offense was duncan and melo, and even then, i bet they had to struggle to get those numbers.
ever feel like this?

Welcome to uComics Web Site featuring FoxTrot -- The Best Comic Site In The Universe!

Damn! That's some good cheese! Why you didn't tell me this cheese was good? Muthaf***! LOL!!!!!

Monday, August 02, 2004

ESPN.com - GEN - Manute Bol suing cab company over injuries

poor manute...

did you even know you were driving manute bol, former gsw center, beyotch?

i can't cut and paste the conversations i see on mIRC while i'm dling tekken match vids, so i have to take a screenshot instead; click to enlarge; heh heh; WHATHAHTHAHTHTAT! Posted by Hello
still working on ewgf/ws+2, b,f+2,1>2, df+4,4... pathetic... i can't nail the combo. if you ain't fat, i can't nail it with consistency.

i have to drink at least 2 more slurpees before the summer ends... because of these 2 songs:

sugarcult - memory
guns n roses - you could be mine

such a contrast... memory is the typical punk rock song... it's only cause i can't get it out my head that i have to own it... i think it's when the rhythm guitarist starts playing the 2nd verse with harmonics(preview the entire song for free at www.sugarcult.com). and you could be mine is one of my favorite ol skool rock tunes... complete with Slash going nuts on the guitar for some riffs. ol skool rock is awesome... the only thing that puts me off are the vocals sometimes. but you don't know what guitar talent is missing from today's bands til you hear something from the 70s or so. basically anything pre-nirvana.

jon: hey rich are you doing anything today?
me: i might be free tonight
me: does jerm wanna go to jusco again? :D
jon: haha its not open on mondays
jon: we'll probably go tomorrow though
me: heh heh...
me: great...

(jusco is NOT pmt(aka pearl milk tea); it's an all-you-can-eat sushi buffet that's around $8 at lunch in davis; ever since jerm went once he's been hooked; i don't hate sushi, but it's mainly rice, and that's the catch; it fills you up very quickly; i'd rather save up and go to hot pot city; ok so the price is a lot higher, but it's more worth it)

pistons will own rockets on nov 3; but i'm sure the reason why most ppl wanna watch this game is cause of tmac and yao ming... that's ok; i can't wait to see prince d up on tmac just like 2k3 playoffs.

Sunday, August 01, 2004

so, what's worse? the fact that the europeans' value of christianity has gone down the drain, or that the way some people are trying to bring it back is by trying to appeal and trying to become one of the world?

i thought the point of trying to become one with the world was that we had to send a message of "hey, we sin just like you; we're only human; but we know that's not the way, and we fight it with all our heart." wasn't that the type of mindset we were supposed to have?

so what's worse? the frying pan? or the fire?

but let's not point fingers too much; we still have to ask yourselves(you, the one who's reading this), if that makes you a better person... because i'm an american? because 58% of us yanks believe in God, whereas the Europeans believe in him about at the 33% mark? hey, demons believe in God; does that make them equal to angels?

well? what's your answer? better answer carefully now...

and remember, if you AREN'T a better person, then maybe you should do some sincere confession.

the deeds don't reflect the heart, but the heart reflects the deeds... think about that...

(btw i love late afternoon davis summer weather... the cool breeze is awesome... being outside is awesome, period)

(i'm chaffing; so much about the hard-earned back-shoulder tan; don't matter though; the skin probably was more BURNED than tanned)

(and tony's coming up to davis around the 15-17; me and jon gotta show this brother of ours around)

(www.jibjab.com; i'm sure you've seen the swf cartoon of bush and kerry; but if not, it's kinda funny.)

(i love the lead guitar riff that the lead guitarist plays on jeremy camp's version of "i will trust in you")