why is it that white people always call "pearl milk tea," "bubble tea?" always peeves me why they do that.
or why more people seem to like chicken over beef?
---
i've got about 3 hours to blow, so i'd thought i'd spend some time ragging on the "bandwagon fan." the bay area would know something about this right about now, given their incredible series against the mavericks, their "go-for-broke" attitude on every offensive possession of jacking up 3s, etc. it draws a lot of fans. it's also a commonplace thing for die-hard sports fans to absolutely HATE the bandwagon fan. why? reasons are obvious; they are only there when the team's doing well. when the team is doing well, and they have a chance to reach the chip, everybody loves them. when they're on the verge of getting swept, or aren't making the playoffs, nobody likes them. God bless the loyal Heat fans, but Miami is a great example of a bandwagon sports city. where are all the Marlin fans? where are all the Heat fans? nowhere. they apparently care more about other things.
most people, in citing their loyalty in following their team, will say something to the extent of "i have been following this team ever since i was 8, etc." but does that mean we're not allowed to also become fans of other teams? no. so by that same logic, if you haven't become dead set on what teams to like before hitting 10, it's official; you're a bandwagon fan of any team. wonderful; i'm out of luck; why am i watching the nba at all these days then?
but, i want to elaborate that most people tend to judge bandwagon fans by the period of time that they jump ON the bandwagon. i also believe that isn't a good way to do it. you see, no one becomes a fan of a sucky team on their own. at all. (besides following your hometown sports team) you just don't see anybody start closely following a team which is sucking; you only follow the teams which do well, or have a promising player you wish would do well. i can attest for myself i didn't start following the modern-day pistons when they failed to reach the playoffs with grant hill. i became a fan when i saw just how defensively disgusting each of the starters could guard his man.
so when do you judge the bandwagon fans? simple; when they get off. remember that a bandwagon fan only gets on when it's easy, gets off when it's hard. it's nice and all to have snoop dogg in the oracle arena, kate hudson, carlos santana, etc. GREAT! i'm not going to judge just yet; if they become warrior faithful, GREAT! but if the lakers do well next year and/or the warriors don't do well, and i don't see those same people come april and may, i'm going to be VERY, VERY, VERY DISAPPOINTED.
---
"finding forrester" was a great movie, and i'm glad i watched it. i do crack up everytime i rehear sean connery say in his scottish accent, "you're the man now dog!"
---
sometimes the most important thing to do in trying to find out the truth is not only to ask the questions, but to provide plausible answers, then questions off of the answers again. it is when you are constantly trying to seek the answer for something and refusing to settle, that the answers finally settle.
Sunday, May 13, 2007
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment