i watched bowfinger a few days back. it's funny, you should watch it. the basic plot is that steve martin is a low-budget film producer, and wants to get eddie murphy, a big-time action star to appear in his new film. however, he was turned down. so steve figures to film eddie unawares on the spot. now, here's where it gets funny; eddie murphy's character is also going through some rehab with a psychiatrist, trying to get himself to believe there are no aliens or strange things occurring around him. guess what steve martin's script includes? aliens.
oh yea, you'll laugh when you see who's in steve martin's production crew. get this; he's short on staff, so he drives near the border and gets a buncha illegal immigrants to hop in his van for work. i love how one of the scenes when the mexicans are by themselves, you hear them saying stuff like "a mi me gusta citizen kane."
---
game 1 of the 89 nba finals was awesome. so this is a definite must-rewatch. if i don't see another nba finals game in the dvd set where dumars is better than this game, i'll consider this a must watch.
dumars got 22, and there were a couple of shots where he made amazing drives past his opponent. one was a quick crossover, from right to left back to right and then boom he was past his man before the steal attempt was done. the other was backing into magic johnson after recovering the ball, and then spinning past him on the right side. i think there was another one where he drove from the left, and put up a shot as time was running out, and got a high bank to go in.
rodman only got 10 boards, but must've taken 5-6 charges. the last one he got had me rofl-ing, because it's the infamous one i keep seeing in bad boy highlight films, where he takes a charge from one of the laker rookies, falls backwards on his back, then continues the momentum doing a backward somersault landing on his knees, and then pumps his fists(naturally), knowing he got the charge.
john salley had 5 blocks. they don't call him "spider" for nothing. one was particularly nice and sticks out in my head, because he got beat by his man, but then got a horizontal swipe as the laker tried to put up the shot after having past him.
pat riley used a LOT of trapping defense(couldn't use zone back then) after getting down large. i was really impressed by the beautiful passing the pistons used to counter it. can't remember them all, but one sequence had about 2-3 passes before it reached dennis rodman, who IMMEDIATELY made a touch pass down the middle of the paint to i-THINK-it-was-john salley for a layup.
i can't stress how even though detroit didn't score a lot of points(usually that is; they got 109 pts this game), they have an almost uncanny sense of controlling tempo; numerous times they nailed shots as the shot clock expired. and of course, i mentioned the extra passing.
people love watching fast break basketball and think that's the most beautiful type of basketball in terms of scoring, but to me, the most beautiful offensive basketball is half-court basketball with a LOT of passing to move the ball. the ones where one guy creates something, then passes, the defense rotates but seems slightly slow, and then from there the rest of the ball movement until a goal is scored, all the movement is created from passing. a lot of the points joe dumars scores from spot-up jumpers come from bill laimbeer receiving the pass from thomas off the pick-n-roll and then bill rotating the ball over to dumars.
oh yea, 2nd quarter isaiah made a pass down low to rodman, who got the and1 going up from magic johnson. time left on the clock after doing it? 0.0 (insert dennis rodman pumping fist, haha) what's probably funnier is that rodman's followup free throw attempt grazed the FRONT of the rim.
surprised at how little minutes kareem played. was he injured? the minutes he was in, didn't seem like anybody could really defend his sky hook.
Wednesday, April 18, 2007
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment